At the closing session of ISPI’s 2013 Performance Improvement Conference, Concordia University was announced as the winner of the fifth Annual ISPI Case Study Competition. This year’s competition included two outstanding teams, Concordia University and the University of New Mexico.

This recognition was the crowning achievement in a journey that began this past January. A team of master’s students in educational technology engaged in the competition by forming a core team to take on the role of consultants in a simulation of an authentic consulting engagement with an authentic, but fictitious, adventure–retail company, EAES, Inc.

The team would meet weekly with the client played by Matt Donovan (founder and facilitator of the Case Study Competition). Over the course of the next three months, the team analyzed the work, worker, and workplace through a series of employee interviews and collection of organizational data.

After collecting its data, the team submitted a written summary of its findings and recommendations, which the team then presented to a panel of judges at the conference. The panel of judges took on the role of an advisory board for EAES, Inc., and evaluated each team’s proposal and presentation. This year’s panel of judges was Roger Addison, Ray Svenson, Anne Apking, and Eileen Banchoff; they had over 110 years of experience among them.

The judges acknowledged that both teams were thoughtful, professional, and clearly invested significant time in the experience. After careful consideration, the judges selected Concordia as the winner of the case competition.

This win is a shining moment for the Concordia University educational technology program and the students involved. The team demonstrated its excellence and commitment to the field of human performance technology. Congratulations to the students: Ryan Forster, Harry Kavallos, Stefan Krueger, Dahlia Radwan, Robert Leibner, Emily Sheepy, and Fei Shu. Special recognition also goes out to Sonia Di Maulo (faculty sponsor), Davina Davies and Rosanna Montoute (advanced student support team), and Ann-Louise Davidson and Richard Schmid (faculty supervisors).